Week 1

The first week of my journey is complete and I already feel better. I got on the scale last Sunday and weighed at 285, when I weighed myself this morning (1/12/14) I was at 276 lbs. I’m sure part of it is water and just the normal fluctuation, but I’ll take it as a motivator. In the past when I lost a ton of weight I was only doing cardio and not toning with weights, this time I have been doing strength training and minimal cardio intervals. Strength training helps you build muscle that burns fat and helps you keep off the pounds. You start low for the first three weeks and then add weight to confuse your muscles so they continue to get stronger. Before the holidays I had started lifting weights, so I have already noticed a difference in my biceps and triceps. Here is the run down of my schedule:

Week 1

Monday – Push (any weight machines that work with a push motion)

  • 65 lbs
  • 15 mins. of cardio intervals

Tuesday

  • 30 mins. of cardio intervals

Wednesday – Legs

  • 70 lbs on  leg curls
  • 135 lbs for leg press

Thursday

  • 15 mins. of cardio intervals
  • abs

Friday – Pull (any machines that work with a pull motion)

  • 65 lbs
  • 10 mins of cardio intervals

Doing the push, leg, pull routine allows your muscles to recuperate so that you are building muscle efficiently.

This has been a great week for me, but it hasn’t been with out its trials. I had a weak moment Thursday evening. I was craving chili-cheese something fierce. I learned, however, that it is okay to have one cheat meal to confuse your metabolism so that it continues to work hard.

Looks good right?!?

Looks good right?!?

I am beyond ready for warmer weather and pool days. This uncontrollable urge to be outside during beautiful weather led me to take my road bike out on Saturday. I had a great ride but the wind was fighting me so it took me longer than usual to complete ten miles. I love cycling and since it is something that is easy for me, I can easily ride for long periods of time and it doesn’t feel like a workout.

View of Pinnacle Mountain on Two Rivers Trail.

View of Pinnacle Mountain on Two Rivers Trail.

I look forward to many more days like this. Thanks again to everyone for your continued support, it means the world to me and keeps me going.

